{ Free Tutorial } How to make a Baby Wrap

12 Mar

I just LOVE . LOVE . LOVE . my baby wrap!

Maybe I should say Little Lady loves it, but I love it for different reasons than she does!!

Why I love to wear my Little Lady in a baby wrap:

  1. She loves to snuggle in and feel secure as she did in the womb and almost instantly becomes calm
  2. When I am shopping or cleaning or cooking, wearing baby makes me hands free and baby is content
  3. Pulling the fabric over Little Lady to shield her from coughing and germs in public places makes me feel like she is protected and safe
  4. The other Little Ladies love to wear her in it too – what a help for me sometimes!
  5. Following my tutorial here you can custom make a baby wrap to YOUR unique style and make a statement!  I like that it is not only a life saver, but can be stylish too.

This tutorial has moved to a bigger and better home on the net!

Click this link to go to the baby wrap tutorial

19 Responses to “{ Free Tutorial } How to make a Baby Wrap”

  1. Erica March 20, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    Wow! This is like soooo perfect! I wanted to buy one of these a while ago, but seeing as how they were so expensive (around 40 bucks) I never did. Now, I have a custom one, and it cost me close to nothing! Thanks so much!
    -E

    • lia March 22, 2011 at 9:01 am #

      It’s been fun, using my homemade baby wrap because it is so unique. I get compliments when I’m out and about . . . I’m sure you will enjoy yours too.
      ~Lia

    • Bella November 4, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

      Thank you soo very much for the Awesome Tutorial. I am new to sewing and I just made this wrap! I love it. It fits perfect and your video on how to wear it helped a ton. I appreciate your website! Thank you. Bella

  2. April March 24, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    What an awesome tutorial! There are so many advantages of making these yourself the best is that you get to choice the fabric! I love having so many choices!

    • lia March 24, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

      I totally agree! I personally love the Amy Butler fabric and I think I am going to make another one just so I can use some! lol Thanks for stopping by.
      ~Lia

  3. Valerie March 28, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    I love this! I need to make one for my sis-in-law who is due in less than a month…. hmmm…. time to get going! 🙂 Thanks for the tutorial!

    • lia March 29, 2011 at 9:29 am #

      Your welcome! I use my baby wrap so much I almost feel like making one every time I find a new fabric I love {giggle} I saw a fabulous Amy Butler the other day . . . maybe I’ll save it for a new tutorial of some sort. {wink}
      Thanks for the comment!
      ~Lia

  4. Life in Rehab March 29, 2011 at 9:58 am #

    This is a very cute project, and your tutorial is great, but let’s face it, I came over to baby-goggle, and it was totally worth it. She’s cute!

    • lia March 29, 2011 at 11:56 am #

      Thanks
      ~Lia

  5. lola April 24, 2011 at 2:40 am #

    i love your wrap! thanks for your post!!!
    i’d like to make one, and i’m finding it hard (in a small town) to get 100% cotton with a one-way stretch… do you use a jersey knit cotton, or a lighter weight one? i’m going to have to buy mine online, which is a bit tricky!!
    also i wonder if it’s possible to get a cotton stretch that doesn’t roll at the edges… hmmm.
    ps. i love your video, very helpful

    • lia April 28, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

      Hi! Thanks for your comment!!!
      A jersey knit is fine, it’s really your preference. A heavier thicker fabric will be a bit warmer. You could use a cotton knit that doesn’t roll on the edge you may just want to finish it around the edges or serge it like I did. I have seen people use a cotton that doesn’t have any stretch but I’ve never made one that way, so I don’t know the positives or negatives of that.
      Good luck and happy sewing!!!

  6. LittleMissesKate April 29, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    I’m off to buy my supplies today! I had a sling with my first son, and it never really fit right; I only used it when I had to, and got a backache to boot! I’ve been looking for something better for my second son, due in September, and have heard great things about these wraps. And to think, I can make my own for a fraction of what they run in stores/online! Your tutorial looks very simple, just what I need – thank you!

    • lia May 2, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

      Your welcome! Enjoy your wrap!!

  7. Jessica July 23, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    i have a faux moby gifted from a friend, who actually bought the 6 yards and gave me half 🙂 so good deal for me, but I looooooove the fabric panel on the front and am going to update mine with one! also love your tip about slanting the ends for an easier tie- one thing that frustrated me with using the wrap was all the crazy amounts of fabric you lug around, so anything that makes it a bit smaller…! Thanks!

  8. Katlyn August 30, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    Hi! I bought (and then donated) my first wrap-loved it! Now having #2 and will totally make this…wondering if the fat quarter is purely decorational? I like the solid color look, too, so wanted to do one with and one without, unless it serves a necessary purpose. Thanks for your time! And the tutorial!

  9. rachel October 21, 2011 at 4:43 am #

    Thank you for the help! I actually did end up making one for my daughter, and I love it!

  10. Anna December 14, 2011 at 2:40 am #

    This is so cute. ❤ My friend used to say that this is the most time efficient way to put babies to sleep. Because the motion calms them down without you having to postpone doing the dishes or something.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Be sure to check out the video I just added! | five little ladies - March 28, 2011

    […] just added a video to the FREE tutorial on how to make a baby wrap.  In this video I give you a visual demonstration of what I have found […]

  2. Whoo Hoo! I made the top ten on Crazy Domestic’s Link Party | five little ladies - March 30, 2011

    […] of 124 Tutorials and projects my Baby Wrap Tutorial was in the top 10.  Click here to see the other projects that made the top […]

Leave a comment