{ Tips on Tuesday } Trick to a Moist Chocolate Cake

22 Mar

My trick to a moist chocolate cake that doesn’t become crumbly . . .

Some of you may know I spent a few years as a cake decorator and have a few tricks up my sleeve!  One thing I have noticed and heard people talk about, is how difficult it is to get a really moist chocolate cake.  For some reason chocolate cake often tends to be a tad dry and develops a crumbly texture.  Well, I’ve heard all kinds of things, but what I have found is just a simple solution that works well for me every time . . .

Ready???

{{Drum roll}}

Slightly under-bake it!  I always try to take my chocolate cake out of the oven a few minutes earlier than the time called for in the recipe.  As it cools it always sets up nicely and is never dry.

Try it.  Let me know what you think . . . I love your comments {{ wink }}


5 Responses to “{ Tips on Tuesday } Trick to a Moist Chocolate Cake”

  1. Christine Schuller March 22, 2011 at 7:23 am #

    I love your tips…they are always practical yet simple. The best ideas are not always the most involved or complicated.

  2. Naomi March 23, 2011 at 8:31 am #

    haha, it’s the SLIGHTLY under bake that I have the trouble with 😉 I’m ALWAYS under baking! But thanks for the tip, I am a failure at making cakes, so every little bit helps!

    • lia March 24, 2011 at 12:04 am #

      Thanks for your comment! I’ve tried this with other types of cakes, and it only seems to work with Chocolate cake. I just under bake it a tad and let it cool in the pan and it works like a charm for me 🙂 Do you use a toothpick or testing stick and wiggle it in the center a bit to check your cakes before they come out? That could help you some. Another thing is to buy a thermometer and keep it in your oven, because sometimes the oven temperatures vary.
      Good Luck and happy baking
      ~Lia

  3. Lara June 3, 2011 at 1:44 am #

    haha, I used to cook dry cakes and I knew for sure that under-baking was no good. That’s why I never tried it with moist chocolate cakes, I didn’t know that would work. Thanks for the tip:)

    • lia June 3, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

      It has worked for me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

